Elk Mountain - Elk Creek Loop 08-31-11

This forum is used to share your experiences out on the trails.
Crusak

Elk Mountain - Elk Creek Loop 08-31-11

Post by Crusak » August 31st, 2011, 7:19 pm

Yes, just another loop in the Coast Range. No, I've never done this particular combination before. Yes, this was my first solo trip up Elk Mountain. No, I am not yet tired of hiking in this area. :)

I wasn't going to post a TR, but then I changed my mind. From what I could determine the only other member I've seen post a TR with a loop like this was 'Thum' so I figured it wouldn't hurt. I think this is a nice option for those of you who don't want to tackle both Elk and Kings in one day, or try to go up AND down Elk Mountain... :shock: At the bottom I posted the profile, which shows the more gentle descent of the Elk Creek Trail.

Today was the last day of my mini-vacation. I was supposed to be in Jefferson Park over the past few days.... but oh well. Not wanting to drive through Portland to get to something different, I chose my favorite 'local' trail system yet again. The Kings-Elk-Wilson River trails are 45-50 minutes from my house, so it's hard to resist.

8.4 miles, 2817 ft elevation gain, 3 hrs 56 minutes total 'moving' time. The weather was cool (53° at the TH) and I was occasionally doused with a bit of drizzle. In the upper elevations I had to put on a layer because it got chilly.

I played with the new camera a bit today. I'm liking it much better than my old one. Here are some pictures from the hike.
view from Elk Mtn trail.jpg
Kings from Elk Mtn trail.jpg
summit sign.jpg
zoomed in on Kings from Elk summit.jpg
3-way junction.jpg
slug dining on aged gourmet poo.jpg
foxglove.jpg
the occasional berry.jpg
The GPX file:
Elk_Mtn-Elk_Creek.gpx
(234.12 KiB) Downloaded 284 times
profile Elk Mtn - Elk Creek.JPG
Elk Mtn to Elk Creek Trail loop.JPG
Jim's Hikes

Solvitur Ambulando

mayhem

Re: Elk Mountain - Elk Creek Loop 08-31-11