* edited! * Kings-Elk Creek-WRT loop with TFFs 04/27/13

This forum is used to share your experiences out on the trails.
Crusak

* edited! * Kings-Elk Creek-WRT loop with TFFs 04/27/13

Post by Crusak » April 28th, 2013, 4:31 pm

*** EDIT ****
Thanks to Karl for helping this first page load a lot faster! Here you go, enjoy.

Friday night I found myself doing what many of us from this forum do - figuring out where to hike on Saturday. :) I sent out a couple of "feelers" to see what other people were doing. Karl had an interesting idea - since he'd never hiked up Kings Mountain before, why not do that? To make it interesting he/we decided to make a loop out of it. Further texting between EP, Mayhem and others resulted in this loop: hiking to the summit of Kings, down the back side and around to Elk Creek. Down the Elk Creek Trail, and back on the Wilson River Trail. That is one loop I've never done before (in that order at least).

DISCLAIMERS: FIRST, most of these pics were taken by Mayhem and KepNW. A few by me. Also, I ended up doing the TR because I was the slowest one to say "not it!" when the task was being discussed. hehe so if you're expecting a seriously boring description of the hike... I'm not capable of such. ;)

Finally tally had four of us meeting at a very non-loony 7:30am at the Kings TH. Locked 'n' loaded we hit the trail. :D But not before getting in a group picture.

EP was a bundle of energy as usual, and spent a considerable amount of time dashing ahead, lingering behind, and taking lots of pictures & video. In fact, I'd estimate our total pictures taken to be more than 400! Fortunately I'm not uploading that many...

Headed up Kings Mtn there is one thing you quickly recognize: you're going up. And up.