5/19/12 Hummocks Loop & Boundary Trl #1 to Observatory (MSH)

This forum is used to share your experiences out on the trails.
mileagemike25000

5/19/12 Hummocks Loop & Boundary Trl #1 to Observatory (MSH)

Post by mileagemike25000 » May 20th, 2012, 6:55 am

It's time to start seeking out the higher elevations where the snow has melted or has become patchy. We seem to have bad luck with completing hikes in the Mt. St. Helens blast zone so we set out to try again on the day after the eruption anniversary. The anniversary of the eruption is kind of a special day as my wife and I graduated from college on May 18, 1980! We had to quickly work with AAA to change our driving plans from Chicago to the southern route as I accepted a job in Beaverton!

We decided to try out the Hummocks Loop Trail #229 and then intersect the Boundary Trail #1 and hike that to the Johnston Ridge Observatory and beyond. The Hummocks Loop Trail starts from a large parking lot that is a couple of blocks past the Coldwater Lake exit, but whose exit is on the right of Hwy 504. You really can't miss the large sign that indicates the trail location! There were plenty of cars in the parking lot as a ranger was giving a talk to a large group for the loop hike. We started the Hummocks Loop trail in the clockwise direction so that we could finish it on the way back from the observatory.
1 Hummocks Trail #229_(1).JPG
We quickly passed the large group taking the guided tour and in about 1/2mile reached the intersection with Boundary Trail #1.
2 Boundary Trail #1 Intersection with Hummocks Trail_(1).JPG
Turning left we started up Boundary Trail #1. The first portion of this trail is rather flat and we noticed that ALL :( the deciduous trees were infested with what looked to me like silk worms!
3 Silk worms infesting deciduous trees_(1).JPG