Willamette Valley missing as Area in Find a Hike

Post comments or questions about the Field Guide
at2010

Willamette Valley missing as Area in Find a Hike

Post by at2010 » February 14th, 2013, 11:53 am

Hello & Thanks for the great field guide!

In using your Find a Hike! page I could not find Willamette Valley in either the Area drop down list nor under the Options. But Willamette Valley is used as a category in a number of hikes.
http://www.portlandhikersfieldguide.org ... tte_Valley

I suspect this is not the only region missing from the Areas list. "Santiam Forest" is another category/area I have seen. Would there be a way to correct this list or add another column/list pulldown for Categories? I am a web page developer and would be happy to help, if requested.

Have a hiking day!

AT2010 (Appalachian Trail 2010)

Peder

Re: Willamette Valley missing as Area in Find a Hike

Post by Peder » February 14th, 2013, 3:59 pm

Welcome AT2010! I think that you have a point... The map also has a "Portland & Valley" grouping, but that actually only includes one hike outside the greater Portland area (the Baskett Slough Hike at the very bottom of the page and btw, a great place to see wildlife).
Some people are really fit at eighty; thankfully I still have many years to get into shape…

retired jerry

Post by retired jerry » February 14th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Wow! Appalacian Trail! Nice!

Willamette Valley - that would be in "Portland and Valley"

Santiam Forest - maybe in "Mount Hood" or "Central Oregon" which don't make a lot of sense

Maybe "Portland and Valley" should be broken up into "Portland" and "Willamette Valley"

Maybe there should be an area added between "Mt Hood" and "Central Oregon"

I think you can see from the map approximately which area a particular location would be

There are always somewhat arbitrary decisions that can go either way