Eastern Invasion

Introduce yourself to the group! We welcome novice and expert alike! We especially love hearing from those new to Portland and those new to hiking
vinovampire

Eastern Invasion

Post by vinovampire » March 23rd, 2012, 6:15 pm

Hello Everybody - I'm always happy to take an opportunity to introduce myself. I'm an unabashed invader from the eastern USA, northeast New England to be not much more exact. Over the next few months, it looks like I'll be visiting Portland at least three times and plan on getting outside as much as possible.

I've been backpacking and hiking in New England for the past 15+ years of my adult life and took plenty of "long walks" in the wilderness area around my home as a kid. As a kid, we lived in a small house surrounded by a large (for NE) piece of wilderness land. My little brother and I would wander for hours through the woods and across the streams to various ponds. I didn't realize how lucky we were at the time. Now, I'm out in the back-country every chance that I can find to slip away, which ends up being several times a month all year-round. I love hiking and camping out during all four seasons equally - (a) winter, (b) mud, (c) bug, and (d) fall.

I've had so many "highlights" from my hiking career, I can't even begin to answer that question, BUT I'm always excited about the next adventure, whether it's a quarter mile off a road or a couple weeks on the trail. That said, here's a picture from one of my favorite hikes from this winter. Snow was gently falling the entire day, which you can faintly make out from the specks in "the doorway." I was having such a magical day, I forgot to go up to the actual summit. :mrgreen:

Mt Mansfield, Vermont, USA

Over the next few weeks, I'll be lurking and asking questions. I'll be looking for good suggestions and trail reports for hikes in the Portland/Bend-areas in April. The nice people over at Backpacker Forums suggested this place, and it looks like a great resource.